YOU MUST BE BORN AGAIN

Are you saved?  Do you have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ?

It is not about whether  you are a good person or not, because being a ‘good’ person will not get you into Heaven when you die.

God is holy, and requires us to be holy also.  He requires that we be born again in order to go to Heaven.  In John 3:7, Jesus tells Nicodemus that “Ye must be born again.”

Jesus then goes on to say, “For God sent not his Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through him might be saved.  He that believeth on him is not condemned: but he that believeth not is condemned already, because he hath  not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God.”  John 3:17&18

Jesus is the Son of God, and the ONLY way to Heaven.

“7 Then said Jesus unto them again, Verily, verily, I say unto you, I am the door of the sheep. ….  9 I am the door; by me if any man enter in, he shall be saved, and shall go in and out, and find pasture.”  John 10:7&9

“Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.”  John 14:6

The Bible makes it clear.  We will not get to heaven without Jesus because we are all sinners and unworthy.  We MUST be born again.

How do we become born again?

First, we must acknowledge that we are all sinners.  “For all have sinned and come short of the glory of God.”  Romans 3:23

Because we are all sinners, we are all condemned to death: “For the wages (penalty) of sin is death…”  Romans 6:23   This death means eternal separation from God in Hell.

The Good News is that God loves us and He sent His Son Jesus Christ to take that penalty on Himself.

“For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.” John 3:16.

“But God commendeth His love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.” Romans 5:8

“…Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ and thou shalt be saved…” Acts 16: 31

We need to believe that Jesus took the penalty for our sins and died in our place, was buried and rose again.

Then we can claim that gift of eternal life for ourselves when we accept Jesus as our Savior.

“For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.” Romans 10:13

‘Whosoever’ means you.

Won’t you turn to him now and repent of your sin?

Just pray this prayer:

“God, I know that I am a sinner.  I believe Jesus died on the cross and took the penalty for my sin on Himself so that I might be saved.  I now accept Him as my Savior.  Thank you for the forgiveness of my sins and for the gift of eternal life.  Amen”

If you prayed this prayer, you should find a Bible-believing church to attend and be baptized as a public testimony of your salvation.

© Drusilla Mott and https://drusillamott.wordpress.com, 2012

*  *  *  *  *

In the next few posts I will go deeper into our sinfulness and how God’s commandments convict us of that sin.  I will also try to explain what happens when we are born again.

7 thoughts on “YOU MUST BE BORN AGAIN

  1. Amen! That is exactly what Jesus told Nicodemus, a rule of the Jews. He came to Jesus under the cover of darkness seeking salvation. “Jesus replied, “Very truly I tell you, no one can see the kingdom of God unless they are born again” (John 3:3).

    Like

    • Hi Noel. I’ve been trying to read DL Moody’s “The Kingdom of God and How to Find It” and found an excerpt that adds to this and I’ll be posting it Monday. In another week or so I’ll be explaining what happens when we are born again and use John 3:3 to start that article. Thanks so much for your thoughts.

      Like

  2. Pingback: D.L. MOODY’S “THE WAY TO GOD AND HOW TO FIND IT” | Drusilla Mott

Leave a comment