Share Your World – 2014 Week 10

I find I have to be brutally honest right up front and say that I was not going to participate this week because I didn’t want to answer the following questions; but we are nothing if not brutally honest here, so these are my answers for week 10:

Describe yourself in a word that starts with the first letter of your name.

I would have to say Distracted because of all the things that seem to happen at the same time around here, and all the demands on my time and attention, pulling me in multiple directions at the same time.

If 100 people your age were chosen at random, how many do you think you’d find leading a more satisfying life than yours?

Here is where my brutal honesty may hurt.  The way my life is going right now, I would have to say at least 95 of those 100 people would probably have a more satisfying life.   Physical pain keeps me from doing most of what I used to do with no second thought.  I find I need help to do the most mundane task, such as getting dressed in the morning because the slightest wrong move creates excruciating pain that leaves my arms limp and immobile for minutes at a time.  Add to that personal problems, family problems, financial problems and a host of other problems that I don’t want to get into; and I am left feeling beaten down and frustrated.  It was so bad last week, I actually told my husband that I hated my life and just wanted to go Home.

I know.

There are many people in this world that have it alot worse than I do.  There are people with worse injuries, worse problems, worse everything.  And I remind myself of that whenever I start feeling bruised and broken.

I also know a Christian is supposed to be content in whatsoever state we find ourselves in, but sometimes I just feel buried under pain and problems that seem to never end; and it is a struggle to find any sunshine in all the shadow.  I try to find peace in all of this, but Satan is nothing if not persistent in his attempts to destroy our peace, and just when I think there is a light at the end of this long tunnel, something else happens to dim the lantern.

I know that this too will end and this will get better.  I know the Lord is giving strength beyond measure to get me through it and I will be fine.  I know I need to look to Him and rest in Him until that time, and am doing my best to wait on Him.

I have a small hanger with cards that have a Bible verse or an Inspirational saying for each day of the year.  Last week one of the cards said this:

“Trust Him when dark doubts assail thee.  

Trust Him when thy strength is small.  

Trust Him when to simply trust Him

Seems the hardest thing of all.”

I am trying.

So now that I’ve had my whining and complaining time, I’ll move on to the next question.

If you were a tree, would you become a book or furniture? Please describe.

I love books, so I would want to be a book.  And right now I think a book of uplifting quotes, Bible verses, and God’s Promises would be just the thing.

You are trapped in an elevator, who would you want to be trapped with?

This question reminded me that I was once trapped on a ski lift in a blizzard by myself.  My husband (now my ex-husband) and son were in the chair in front of me, but I was sitting there dangling 30 feet above the ground in gusting wind and blinding snow, watching as the rescue squad helped people in front of me climb down to the ground, praying that they would get the lift fixed and moving again before I had to do that.  They had just gotten the people in the chair in front of my husband to the ground when the lift started moving again.  God was with me that day, answering my prayer, which is why I know that I will get through all the rest of this.

We have had to use elevators quite often, what with Dr. appointments and hospital visits; and the possibility of getting stuck in one is in the back of my mind quite often.  I usually say a prayer when I get into one, asking for it to not get stuck or fall.  So far, God has answered my prayers.

As I thought about my answer, I found I liked Cee’s answer and Patti’s answer.

But if I was stuck in one, I was thinking I would probably want to be alone, given all of my previous answers; but then I thought of my claustrophobia and then wasn’t sure I would want to have to endure that by myself.  If God is not counted, because He would be there with me anyway; I would have to say my husband.  There are times when he just gives strength through being there with me, an arm around my shoulders.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I am grateful for the warmer weather last week and some melting of all this snow.  I am looking forward to more warmer weather next week to melt the snow that we are now accumulating in this storm that is supposed to dump more than a foot on us by tomorrow afternoon.

Thanks for stopping in.  I hope I haven’t completely depressed you this week.

As always, you can Share Your World by leaving your answers in the comments or by writing your own post and linking to  Cee’s blog.

share-your-world2

© Drusilla Mott and https://drusillamott.wordpress.com, 2014