TIME TO PLANT THAT GARDEN

For the past few years we have begun working in our gardens at the end of March beginning of April, because the weather has been cooperative.

This year however, we did not get things going until just a week or two ago.  Summer weather in March was then followed by snow in April and messed up our spring gardening schedule.

We finally got things rolling and got weeds pulled and mulch spread.  Wild flower seeds were planted, along with Glad bulbs and Calla Lilly bulbs.

This is what has happened so far:

Pink Iris:

These Iris came from the church when they built the Fellowship Hall:

 These Iris came with the house:

 Clematis:

Chives:

Not sure why most everything is purple.

Poppies:

Peonies:

I’ve never seen blossoms that are pink and white.

Notice the white spider on the right of this one tucked between the pink petals:

© Drusilla Mott and https://drusillamott.wordpress.com, 2012

14 thoughts on “TIME TO PLANT THAT GARDEN

  1. The spider found a fairly good hiding place. Your flowers are very pretty. Don’t know if I’ve ever seen a pink iris, will have to check into that, it’s lovely.

    Like

    • Thank you Patti. The yellow and burgundy ones that came from the church are the ones I mentioned to you a while back. I am not sure where I got the pink ones from, unless they were in with the ones from church. The spider had been on the top of the petals, but when I got too close with the camera, he scooted back in under them.

      Like

  2. You won’t believe this! I went out and took a photo of the peony buds we took from my Grandmothers house after she passed away. We didn’t know what it would be, I went out this afternoon to find it had bloomed. It’s a double! It also has the slightest shade of pink at the base, not even close to yours but you can notice it. I’m going to post it on my garden blog, with a link to yours as well if you don’t mind.

    Like

  3. Pingback: We Have Doubles! | Weed'em and Eat'em

Leave a comment