Is It Spring Yet?

I have never made a secret of the fact that I love the snow. I have made that point loud and clear more than once to anyone willing to discuss the weather.

In the fall, I wait excitedly for that first snowfall; like a child awaits Christmas morning.

I love the pristine look of new fallen snow, the quiet beauty of a gentle snowfall, the serene peacefulness of standing outside after dark and letting those tiny flakes fall around me.

I love to watch the driving snow in a hard wind, blowing across open farm fields and bringing back memories of childhood.

I love to stand outside at dusk and watch the glistening white turn to gray and then blue in the setting sun.

But, I have to admit, I am sick of it this year.

It has been cold, bitterly cold, with wind chills well below zero. Weather advisories have been the norm this season instead of the exception.

We have another today — lake effect snow that could bring as much as 10 more inches by Tuesday noon.

As I stood this morning, coffee cup in hand, looking out the living room window, I thought how beautiful it was. Light snow gently falling to the earth, covering up the dirty snow that had begun to lose it’s pristine quality.

And even as I admired its beauty, I was wishing it was gone.

I want to go out and walk; to work in the garden; to open the windows and let fresh air blow away the stale, heated air inside.

I want to see the beauty of God’s flowers, the bright green of newly budding leaves, the sun sparkling on the lake.

And I want the deer to get past this winter and survive.

I have posted pictures before on Highways and Byways of the deer that come to our feeders and clean out what was meant for the birds.

In that post I mentioned one that was lame, walking on only three legs with the fourth hanging loosely. She has gotten this far and still comes to feed, by herself, as she has done since we first noticed her. She has grown and can now put a little weight on that bad leg.

But this year we now have another lame one that has one back leg hanging loosely. The deer is small, only half the size of its mama, and has a very hard time working its way through all this snow.

032

As I stood in the window taking the pictures, it stamped one front foot at me.

These two have captured my heart, and whether I should or not, I have prayed that God would take care of them, sustain them through each winter and each hunting season.

I have prayed with clenched fists each time they leave the woods across the road and venture out to reach our feeders. We have had two close calls this year with cars and panicked deer that have run the wrong way and nearly gotten hit.

So as I stood this morning, sipping my hot coffee, with all that going through my mind, I also found myself wondering how many times I have wished for another time; whether back to good times already gone or forward to warmer weather and sunshine.

I mean, really, how much time do we waste thinking of and wishing for another time, another place instead of concentrating on the moment at hand?

For me probably way too much.

But I still wish it was spring.

Blessings for your day.

© Drusilla Mott and https://drusillamott.wordpress.com, 2014

2 thoughts on “Is It Spring Yet?

  1. I’m in your corner, too, waiting for that first warm-ish day that signals it is finished. We see deer along the interstate sometimes when traveling to or from our daughter’s home. I always pray they’ll stay over there where it’s safe. One time there were two deer standing in the middle of the little back road that leads into their neighborhood. At least traffic is slow there, and one needn’t worry about getting hit by another car while avoiding them.

    Like

    • The only problem with here, Patti, is that you can have a couple of warmish days, and then get more snow or at least frost at night. One year we had all our pre-season gardening done with weeding done and mulch down; the Flowering Almond, the Tulips and Daffodils were in bloom, and then it snowed again. I think I did a post about it when it happened.

      But I do worry about the deer getting hit. We have a 45 mile speed limit, but lots of tractor-trailers and dump trucks go by, and not very many do the speed limit. And we now have 3 bunny rabbits, one of which almost got hit this morning running out into the road. I just have to keep telling myself that God is in control of that, too.

      Blessings for your day.

      Like

Leave a Reply

