REDIRECTING MY FOCUS FOR THE NEW YEAR

A part of me feels the need to apologize for the depressing post last week about my struggle to lose weight. It shouts at a lack of faith and a skewed view of things. I knew it, but could not figure out how to correct that view and get back onto the straight and narrow.

My belief that God would supply everything I needed to do His will was battered because I questioned all the circumstances that were keeping me from my goals. I wanted to lose the weight, I felt I NEEDED to lose the weight for my health and well-being.

But I could not help but wonder – if He wanted me to lose the weight, why were there so many things keeping me from doing just that? Shouldn’t it have been easier? Shouldn’t it have worked?

The more I fought, the more my mind got buried in the battle. The more the scales stayed the same, the more my focus zeroed in on the fact that it just was not working.

That previous article was written ahead of time and scheduled to post a day or so later. But the day of the post, I discovered an amazing thing.

The scale had dropped in the right direction – just slightly – but it did move.

And then, today, I found three blog posts that showed me clearly why my view was skewed and why the depression was present.

The more my thoughts dwelt on the problem, the more they turned away from the Lord.

I had tunnel vision. The only thing I was seeing was the lack of results, and focusing on that sent my mood into a downward spiral.

But God is faithful and ever-present.

Even though my focus had fallen away from Him, He was still working on my behalf.

Three of my sisters in Christ wrote uplifting, encouraging articles that showed me my focus had slipped away from my Rock and my Helper; and that I needed to refocus my attention back onto Him and off the struggle with the scales.

Please, go read these articles if you have not already done so.  No matter what struggle you are going through, they will help and uplift.

Heavenly Lullabies by Jeanne Webster

Terra’s A Mind Stayed on the Rock of Ages

I’m Incredible Because God Says So! by Shenine Wiggs

Thank you ladies.
© Drusilla Mott and https://drusillamott.wordpress.com, 2013

6 thoughts on “REDIRECTING MY FOCUS FOR THE NEW YEAR

  1. I’m sending hugs and prayers your way Dru! Keep your eyes on the Lord no matter what. I praise Him for still keeping you even when you took your eyes off of Him. I thank Him for sustaining even me when I’ve fallen. God bless you sister! I’m rooting you on but God is your head leader in cheering you on. Don’t worry about the scale. It will move in time. Exercise to get and keep your body healthy. Love ya!

    Terra
    *Thank you for linking my blogpost!

    Like

  2. Hello Drusilla,
    I read your first post and this one also and felt my heart reach out to you. God promised to never leave you nor forsake you. In every storm we face, we are not alone. Our ever present Savior is with us and He can, He will silence the storm. God doesn’t need a perfect faith to move in your favor. He just needs your prayer/petition…a mustard seed kind of faith and He will step in, show up, and show out! He knows your struggle, and He will see you through this. The Bible encourages us to pray for one another and I lift you up in prayer, trusting that God WILL give you a breakthrough in this and any other petitions you have.

    Like

    • Thank you eunasp, for your encouragement and prayers. My whole attitude toward this has changed, a direct result of the encouragement and prayers shown here by my readers and by the articles these women have written. God used them, and you also, to show me the error of my ways and to remind me that He is still working on my behalf. Thank you again.

      Like

  3. God is good with how He still talks to us today – we all need reminded now and then to focus on the light of God who is always at work in us – instead of the darkness – negative thoughts from the evil one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

