PROJECTS AROUND THE HOME

As some of you may know, we have been doing some work on our home.

We applied for a state grant a few years ago and got quite a bit of work done for which we only have to pay back a small fraction of the total cost.

We have become quite creative in finding ways to do things around here without having to pay an arm and a leg to do it.

We have completed some projects the past few months and opened up a whole new workload by starting some that we found should have been left alone.

This is the table given to me by my Uncle David that Bill refinished. It was in the church office for years holding the copier, apparently after being handed from one sibling to another until it got to Uncle David. When he retired, he gave it to me.

863801-R1-23-24A_024

The Flat Traveler is from our granddaughter in Rhode Island. She sent it to us as part of a school project a few years ago. I took it around with me for weeks, taking pictures to make a scrapbook for her.  Go here to read about the scrapbook.

This is what the table looks like now:

028

Old enamel top kitchen table that we refinished. (Well, I started it, Bill had to finish it when it was too much on my arms and shoulders)

036

This is where I quit:

040

Bill continued on until the table was done:

046

051

Shelf Bill built to hold coffee mugs:

004

Can of worms we opened when we decided to rip up the carpet in the spare room:

011

The living room has matching plywood right smack in the middle of the floor, covered by an area rug until we decide what to do to fix it.

Apparently the kitchen used to be about 3 feet wider and that area is now part of my office.

014 012

And that project will be left for a long weekend when we have nothing better to do.

Maybe into the Millenium?

Have a blessed day.

© Drusilla Mott and https://drusillamott.wordpress.com, 2013

4 thoughts on “PROJECTS AROUND THE HOME

  1. One never knows what may be hiding under carpet. We’ve had several of those projects, the ones where it might have been better off left alone. I used to enjoy refinishing furniture, too.

    Like

    • Oh Patti, I was near tears when we discovered that white tile. The carpet was so old and stained and really needed to be pulled up; but that tile was not what we wanted to find. Someone suggested that we go with laminate flooring, but I really don’t want to cover up the hardwood with laminate. We’ve been discussing getting some unfinished wood flooring from Lumber Liquidators and trying to fit it into the existing flooring, but that is going to be such a long, involved process that we are putting it off for now.

      I would really like to be able to get into the refinishing a bit more, but it is so tough on my arms and shoulders and hands, I don’t think I could handle it now.

      Oh well . . . . 🙂

      Like

    • Hi Karin! Boy I’ve missed you! I really need to come by for a visit soon.

      This Flat Traveler was Flat Anita-Marie and I had such fun taking her around and taking pictures of her. And from what I was told, the Flat Traveler scrapbook that I made of her adventures was a hit in her class when she took it to school. Glad this made you smile.

      God bless.

      Like

Leave a Reply

