PRAYING ABOUT POSSIBLE NORTH KOREAN ATTACKS

I have been fretful the past few weeks since hearing of North Korea’s determination to launch nuclear missiles at South Korea and the United States — either Guam, Hawaii, or the West Coast.

A mother’s fear for her child has fought a battle with my faith, crying out for protection for her son that lives in California.

I sometimes lay awake at night, my heart and mind bouncing back and forth between reassurance and fear, concern and calm acceptance.

Yet, even as my prayers are being uttered, a small voice is reminding me that there are other people living in those parts of this country that soon could be targets of attack; and I am urged to pray for them as well.

Even as I am typing this, Fox News is talking about the imminent attack on South Korea, saying that a missile launch could happen at any time.

My heart wants to leap into my throat; but when I woke this morning, I felt the Lord near me, reassuring and comforting me, filling me with peace.

My morning reading was in Psalms and included these verses:

“The Lord is nigh unto all them that call upon him, to all that call upon him in truth. He will fulfil the desire of them that fear him: he also will hear their cry, and will save them.” (145:18-19)

I know that, no matter what happens, the Lord is in control, and my son is cradled in the palm of His hand.

There is no better place to be.

© Drusilla Mott and https://drusillamott.wordpress.com, 2013

10 thoughts on “PRAYING ABOUT POSSIBLE NORTH KOREAN ATTACKS

  1. I will be praying for you..for peace..and for the people on the west coast. I see people all the time on these blogs quote scripture and say we’re not supposed to be afraid, and so forth..and we’re not. But, it’s easier said than done when you’re faced with something personally.

    Like

    • So true, Lyn. There are times when the fear for a loved one creeps up and takes a stranglehold and I have to cry out to the Lord. Sometimes it takes a while to ease, but it always does. Praise God for His love and faithfulness!

      Like

      • For me, some of the hardest things are things that are in your mind; and fear is a difficult one. It’s tormenting, and it’s not something you can throw away or get away from (like a food, a drink, or some sort of addictive device). You either have to trust God’s perfect plan, regardless of what happens, or be worried sick constantly. And sometimes, the latter is easier than trusting…because trusting means it might not always be what we want, but we are supposed to just know that it’s God’s will and it’s okay regardless. A hard thing when it touches your very heart.

        Like

    • It made perfect sense. And I agree completely. I still struggle with the knowledge that it might not be what I want to happen, especially when it comes to family. But the Lord has been so close lately, showing me that no matter what, it is going to be okay; filling me with peace. And the knowledge that He is working so closely with me lately makes the fear want to rise again with the idea that he is preparing me for something that I am not going to like; but His peace is stronger than anything else and I know that He is in control of it all and I trust in that. Thanks Lyn.

      Like

      • Amen. I respect you for that… I have a very hard time when it comes to fear and worry. This is one of my weak areas! And when it hits me, I cry and I tell God that I know I am sinning by worrying and being afraid, and I don’t want it… yet it lingers and I don’t know how to make it go completely away except to keep quoting myself scripture and thinking about Jesus..but like you said, it comes back.

        Like

  2. Hi Drusilla,
    Thank you for visiting my blog this morning. I’ve missed reading what God’s doing in your life! Psalm 145:18-19 is a fantastic verse that reminds us God hears our cries and loves us. It reminded me of another great promise we have from our Heavenly Father. No matter what situation we face, nothing can separate us from His unfailing love. “No power in the sky above or in the earth below–indeed, nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord” (Romans 8:39).

    Like

Leave a Reply

