SU FEVER

I live in Central New York, approximately 30 minutes from Syracuse.

Being this close, I have had a good view of the Orange Fever that has captivated Syracuse University fans these past few weeks as SU moved it’s way into the Final Four of the NCAA Championship.

I have never been a big fan of basketball or football or the other team sports. I was into tennis back when my son played in high school and Andre Agassi was in the spotlight; and I enjoy watching the NHL on occasion.

However, even though I cannot stir up much interest even for the Super Bowl or the World Series, I can understand the fervor of all of these Orange fans. I have been a huge fan of NASCAR the last ten years or so, once upon a time eating, sleeping and drinking everything NASCAR for a few years as I tried to learn everything there was to learn.

Over the past year or so, my NASCAR obsession has waned, and now I watch practice and qualifying at triple speed, only pausing to see how Jeff Gordon was doing, then fast forwarding through to the end of the coverage. I watch the races in much the same way, finding myself getting bored after a few laps and turning to an Inspirational movie or a favorite episode of NCIS instead.

But as I traveled through the surrounding area this past week or so, I noticed the extensive amount of SU paraphernalia that decorated homes and yards. Facebook posts about the team far outweighed any other topics, everyone excited about the team’s advancement.

Now, while I am in no way condemning these thoughts and the encouragement and support shown to the team — I was there a few years ago with my support of Jeff Gordon — I can’t help but wonder what this country would be like if we all put that much fervor and passion into spreading the Gospel and living our lives for Jesus.

© Drusilla Mott and https://drusillamott.wordpress.com, 2013

4 thoughts on “SU FEVER

Leave a Reply

