TURN YOUR EYES UPON JESUS

Are you buried under the weight of problems?

Are you feeling smothered under the pressures of illness, injury or family conflict?

Do you feel as if you are unable to see the light of day through sadness and despair?

It is a terrible thing to feel this way, helpless and alone in a darkness of tears and uncertainty. I know.

Many years ago my life was in turmoil, everything that could go wrong, did. Everything around me was falling apart.

Uncounted nights were spent drenching my pillow with the tears of fear and anger and pain. Round and round I went in my thoughts, an undeveloped faith no good in the darkness of the night.

But praise God for His mercy and grace. Praise God that He did not leave me there alone; but led me through to the light of His love and assurance.

As He promised, He worked those dark times to my good.

He used those times to develop and strengthen my faith, to draw me closer, to teach me that it is when we focus on ourselves that we sink into all that darkness and uncertainty.

I learned during those dark hours that it is when we focus on Him and not on ourselves or what is happening to us that He strengthens us.

How can He help us, guide and direct us when our eyes are upon ourselves and not on Him?

Can we follow someone down the street if we do not keep our eyes on them to see where they are leading us? No.

It is the same way with the Lord. We cannot follow Him through the misery and pain and reach the other side when we are not looking to Him. We cannot see where He is directing us unless our eyes and our hearts are focused on Him and what He is telling us.

That wonderful chorus by Helen H. Lemmel says it all:

Turn your eyes upon Jesus,

Look full in His wonderful face;

And the things of earth will grow strangely dim

In the light of His glory and grace.

The next time you are in the midst of fear and heartbreak, loneliness and pain; look to the One that knows all things, sees all things, and loves you with a love beyond measuring. He will not lead you wrong if you keep your eyes on Him.

© Drusilla Mott and https://drusillamott.wordpress.com, 2013

6 thoughts on “TURN YOUR EYES UPON JESUS

    • Thank you Patti. The header picture is from a clip art cd that we used at church — I colored it with watercolor pencils and scanned it into the computer. Not professional, but I like it also. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

