Psalm 30

1. I will extol thee, O Lord; for thou hast lifted me up,

and hast not made my foes to rejoice over me.

2. O Lord my God, I cried unto thee and thou hast healed me.

3. O Lord, thou hast brought up my soul from the grave;

thou hast kept me alive, that I should not go down to the pit.

4. Sing unto the Lord, O ye saints of his,

and give thanks at the remembrance of his holiness.

5. For his anger endureth but a moment; in his favour is life;

weeping may endure for a night, but joy cometh in the morning.

6. And in my prosperity I said, I shall never be moved.

7. Lord, by thy favour thou hast made my mountain to stand strong:

thou didst hide thy face, and I was troubled.

8. I cried to thee, O Lord; and unto the Lord I made supplication.

9. What profit is there in my blood, when I go down to the pit?

Shall the dust praise thee?  Shall it declare thy truth?

10. Hear, O Lord, and have mercy upon me;

Lord be thou my helper.

11. Thou hast turned for me my mourning into dancing:

thou hast put off my sackcloth, and girded me with gladness;

12. To the end that my glory may sing praise to thee, and not be silent,

O Lord, my God, I will give thanks unto thee for ever.

12 thoughts on “Psalm 30

      • I think I might know the reason…God’s word is alive and though you’ve read it before, something jumped out at you differently this time. Praise the Lord dear sister! That is something when that happens.

        Like

        • I agree, Lyn, as it has happened to me before; but I am curious as to why it happened now – is there a message for me that I should be taking note of .. or is it for someone else that may need to read this? Or is it just the fact that posting it is a way to testify to God’s work in my life?

          As you can see, I ask a lot of questions.

          Like

        • Of course….I’ve always heard that one of the ways in which God’s Word is alive is that when we are going through one experience, something else grabs us, and so much that there are times something stands out that we never noticed before. I’ve heard people say they can read the Bible over and ove again and are always finding something new they’d never noticed. And of course, if you had that “feeling” while you were reading it, then I’m sure it was for you… unless the feeling came with a thought of someone else in mind..?

          Like

  1. Hmmm…I just re-read it again. I take it as confirmation from the Lord of your salvation and His reminder that He is coming very soon. I have a question now; have you ever even had the slightest thought or worry here lately about anything to do with the rapture (would I be taken? Am I sure? Are all of my bases covered?) Or, are you waiting on God for something you’ve asked for (healing for health, finances, someone else you’ve fervently been praying for who is close to you? A situation in your life that you have been pleading with the Lord to heal, change, or take care of?) Now who’s asking A LOT of questions!

    Like

    • Lyn, I have no doubts on my salvation. I love the Lord with all my heart, with all my soul and with everything that I am. I pray regularly for God to search my heart and bring to light any sin that I have not considered or repented of. The only thing I have doubts about is whether I have done enough, whether what I am doing will stand the test of fire.

      Beside that, I have numerous things I am praying about — asking for healing in health, finances and relationships, and for salvation of some close to me. I have also had things happen previously that, if the Lord had not stepped in, I could have really been hurt.

      I feel this chapter is a reaffirmation and a reassurance of all of that, but the timing of this feeling makes me wonder what is happening “behind the scenes” that I don’t know about. Obviously, God has worked, and is working, on my behalf; but I am inquisitive in that I want to see “behind the scenes” and understand all of it – which, so far, hasn’t happened. 🙂

      I tend to ask questions as to the reasons behind things – Is there something for me to learn from this? Is there something that I need to do about this? How am I to respond to this? Was this allowed to bring the Lord’s will into the situation that will bring good from it?

      I don’t always get answers to these questions. I guess that’s where faith comes in, right? 🙂

      Like

      • Exactly. Obviously He was speaking to you, as He always does in His word…isn’t it awesome? I was thinking yesterday about many of the people in the Old Testament accounts; they didn’t have the Bible. That would be so difficult to not have those words to strengthen, lift up, exhort. We oftentimes complain about things, yet we have been given something so wonderful that so many people did not have; and, so many in places of the world literally risk their lives just to have…the Holy Bible. So many people leave it sit, collecting dust, untouched…I’ve seen it in people’s homes in homecare, covered with heavy layers. When you think how people die for the Word of God, and how many people have died, and how blessed we are to have it, it’s so sad how many of us take it for granted. God bless you Drusilla…I didn’t think you doubted your salvation, really…you seem to strong of a godly woman to have those doubts (though there are some strong people out there who do from time to time.) God bless you today and always dear sister!

        Like

Leave a Reply

