PEACE IN TRIALS

“1 Now before the Feast of the Passover, when Jesus knew that His hour had come that He should depart from this world to the Father, having loved His own who were in the world, He loved them to the end. 2 And supper being ended, the devil having already put it into the heart of Judas Iscariot, Simon’s son, to betray Him, 3 Jesus, knowing that the Father had given all things into His hands, and that He had come from God and was going to God, 4 rose from supper and laid aside His garments, took a towel and girded Himself. 5 After that, He poured water into a basin and began to wash the disciples’ feet, and to wipe them with the towel with which He was girded.” John 13:1-5

As I read this passage recently, I was struck with the realization that even as Jesus knew who would betray Him and what lay in store for Him over the next days, He acted in love for His disciples.

Jesus knew He would be betrayed. He knew what kind of torment and torture He would endure. He knew He would spend days separated from the Father.

Yet with this anguish that He was about to face, He still loved and taught those closest to Him. He set aside His anguish and followed His Father’s will.

As I read this, and the rest of chapter 13, it was as if I could see this room and the scene within. It was as if He washed my feet also, showing me the example I was to follow.

And then it felt as if He was filling me with His innermost thoughts and feelings at that second.  It was as if it was I that was going to be persecuted and tormented, but even as this knowledge filled me, His peace filled me also.

And I felt His directive in my heart and soul that I was to follow His leading and love those that persecuted me; that I was to continue to serve and follow my Father’s will.

I was not to be fearful of what man may do to me, because everything is under His control and authority.

I am not sure if it was a warning that something will happen in the future or if it was just a reminder that I was to continue to love those that torment me and forgive them their actions against me; but the message was as clear as any I have ever received.

“Have not I commanded thee? Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the Lord thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest.” Isaiah 1:9

© Drusilla Mott and https://drusillamott.wordpress.com, 2012

5 thoughts on “PEACE IN TRIALS

  1. We all have a limit. For each of us there is probably a breaking point at which we fail to be Christ like. He was arrested, his disciples fled away, Peter denied him, the false witnesses testified, and yet Jesus held his peace. Pilate was amazed that he did not respond. Could any of us held our tongue? The Pharisees mocked him on the cross, and even one of the thieves hung with him did the same.

    Jesus’ response was to pray for those crucifying him. “Father forgive them, for they know not what they do.” In Acts we see Stephen filled with grace and able to do the same (as he was stoned). Having the faith to endure trials is where some of us are, but to keep our mouth shut while doing it? To not respond to our persecutors would be one thing, but to ask God to forgive them while they are persecuting us? Jesus didn’t just talk about loving his enemies, we see his faith in action. And this is what we are called to.

    Like

    • Thank you so much Clark for your thoughts. I find myself in the exact situation as you describe. It is very difficult for me to keep my mouth shut when everything in me wants to let fly. I continually have an inner battle with myself, telling myself to shut up and place the situation in God’s hands; sometimes I win the battle, other times I find myself defending and arguing my point before I realize I am doing so. I continually have to ask for His help in letting go of my own desire to lash out. And I am finally learning to forgive and pray for them as we are taught — but with that I bounce back and forth between simmering anger and peaceful forgiveness and prayer for them. When I feel the anger begin to rise, I ask that He take it from me and fill me with His love and forgiveness. I have come a good distance from where I used to be, but know I still have a long way to go.

      Like

  2. Pingback: GOODBYE LEAH | On Faith and Writing

Leave a Reply

