WHAT DOES THE LORD REQUIRE OF THEE?

“Wherewith shall I come before the Lord, and bow myself before the high God? … He hath shewed thee, O man, what is good: and what does the Lord require of thee, but to do justly, and to love mercy, and to walk humbly with thy God?”   Micah 6:6a & 8

As we prepare to call out to God for a spiritual awakening, our first priority is to humble ourselves before our Creator.

We cannot come to Him full of pride and our own strength.  We must give those to Him and be willing to use only His strength.

We must be willing to plead for change in our own hearts before we can plead for change in others.  We have to surrender ourselves totally to Him and ask that His work begin in us.

“Heavenly Father, we are asking that You send revival; but I know you must begin Your work in me first.  Change me first, Father.  I confess that I need You.  I confess my sins. 

I confess the sin of un-forgiveness.  The sin of anger toward those that have hurt me and spitefully used me.  I pray that You empty me of these feelings and fill me with Your love for them so that I might follow Your example and pray for them and bless them as You have taught.

I confess the sin of gossiping about those that have hurt me.  I put away all bitterness, and wrath, and anger, and clamour, and evil speaking, with all malice.  I vow to be kind to them, tenderhearted, forgiving them even as You forgave me through Your Son Jesus Christ.

I confess the sin of disobedience.  I acknowledge that I don’t always do what You would have me do, and I sometimes do what You tell me not to. 

Forgive me, Father for my sin.  Show me the sin in my life, both now and in the future.

“Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts: and see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.”    Psalm 139:23-24

In Jesus’ name I pray.

Amen”

© Drusilla Mott and https://drusillamott.wordpress.com, 2012

10 thoughts on “WHAT DOES THE LORD REQUIRE OF THEE?

  1. Drusilla, I join you in prayer. Thanks a lot for allowing me to share this sacred moment with you. God bless.

    Like

  2. Fantastic reminder, Drusilla! I just came from Dicky’s blog where he went through this process of asking the Lord for forgiveness. The Lord can use us in a mighty way when we allow Him to work in us!

    “May the God of peace…that great Shepherd of the sheep, equip you with everything good for doing His will, and may He work in us what is pleasing to Him, through Jesus Christ, to whom be glory for ever and ever” (Hebrews 13:20-21).

    Like

Leave a Reply

