FINDING HOPE IN SUFFERING – Pt. 5

When things happen in my life, I look at the circumstances and wonder why it happened, but not as though I was questioning God’s love and authority.

Rather, I ask the following:

1.  Is this an outcome of sin in my life?  If it is, then I have to ask God to help me recognize that sin and repent of it and ask forgiveness.  I still may have to deal with the consequences, but I can know that I have been forgiven of the sin and that God will remember it no more.  (Hebrews 8:12)

2.  What am I supposed to learn from this?  Is there some lesson that I need to learn that God is trying to teach me?  Is there some area in my life that needs to change or grow?  If so, then I must ask for wisdom and understanding to apply the lesson to my life.

3.  Is there something in this that I am supposed to act on?  If so, how am I supposed to act or react?  What is my response supposed to be?  Am I to use it to help others?  Is my response in itself supposed to be what others see and learn from?

I have heard it said that our reactions and attitudes during trials often determine how long we stay in them.

Take Israel, for example.  When they murmured and complained about leaving Egypt, God was angry.  When they refused to trust Him and refused to enter into the Promised Land, He made them stay in the wilderness for 40 years (Numbers 14).  When Moses got angry and did not honor God in front of the people of Israel, God told him he could not enter the Promised Land (Numbers 20:1-13).

We cannot presume to second-guess God, to question His authority and divine decisions; but we should submit to his authority and humbly ask that His will be done.

“And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to His purpose.”   Romans 8:28

We have the assurance that He loves us, can see all things and will work it out for our good.  He knows what He is doing and we need to place our complete trust in Him.

He knows what is best for us, and if we have faith in His love and His power, we can trust Him to guide us through this life here on earth.

“Be strong and of a good courage, fear not, nor be afraid of them: for the Lord thy God, he it is that doth go with thee; he will not fail thee, nor forsake thee.”   Deuteronomy 31:6

© Drusilla Mott and https://drusillamott.wordpress.com, 2012

10 thoughts on “FINDING HOPE IN SUFFERING – Pt. 5

  1. This has been a great series Drusilla! Thank you for this.
    I think for me anyways, it is sometimes to easy to question God about “what is going on here”, in a given situation and not trust Him. That is so hard sometimes! You are right though, we need to trust that He knows what He is doing, our understanding is always flawed regardless of what we may think.

    Like

Leave a Reply

