FINDING HOPE IN SUFFERING – Pt. 3

“For whom the Lord loveth he chasteneth, and scourgeth every son whom he receiveth.  If ye endure chastening, God dealeth with you as with sons; for what son is he whom the father chasteneth not?”  Hebrews 12:6-7

We should not look at someone’s suffering and assume it is because of sin in their life.

There are many reasons for suffering; but one of God’s purposes for allowing His children to suffer is to correct that person and to restore fellowship with them.

If they are involved in sin and are drifting further and further away from Him, God may allow that person to suffer to bring them back to a place of fellowship with Him.

“But when we are judged, we are chastened of the Lord, that we should not be condemned with the world.”   I Corinthians 11:32

I know this is true in my own life.  How many of us would just continue to drift away if God did not allow some type of trial to pull us back to Him?

“Before I was afflicted I went astray: but now have I kept thy word….It is good for me that I have been afflicted; that I might learn thy statutes.”  Psalm 119:67&71

God loves us too much to allow us to continue to go further and further away from Him because of the sin in our lives.

“For if we would judge ourselves, we should not be judged.” I Corinthians 11:31

This is one of the reasons we must continually examine our hearts for sin, and correct that which we find in ourselves.

“But the God of all grace, who hath called us unto his eternal glory by Christ Jesus, after that ye have suffered a while, make you perfect, stablish, strengthen, settle you.”   I Peter 5:10

God also allows our suffering to mold our character and prepare us for further service.

Again, I have seen this in my own life.

When we are going through life with no problems, we develop the idea that we can handle everything on our own.  We develop pride in our own abilities and think we can accomplish anything under our own strength.

Suffering undermines our pride and helps us to be humble and thankful for God’s strength and intervention.

We learn to be more like our Savior, and less like the world.  We learn to rely on Him for our strength and realize that we can handle everything THROUGH HIS STRENGTH.

With this knowledge, when we are called for greater service, we can step out with confidence.

“I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.”   Philippians 4:13

© Drusilla Mott and https://drusillamott.wordpress.com, 2012

10 thoughts on “FINDING HOPE IN SUFFERING – Pt. 3

  1. Great stuff here Drusilla! Thank you for sharing this with us.
    It is good to be reminded that there is after all hope to be found in suffering. We serve a loving God, thankfully for us!

    Greg

    Like

  2. Thanks Drusilla! I have often found it true in my life that I don’t even recognize what is inside me until some trial comes and presses what is deep inside out so I can see it. Only then can it be dealt with.

    Like

    • Thank you Pastor J. One of my favorite prayers is Psalm 139:23-24 “Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts: and see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everalsting.”

      Like

    • Thank you Nancy. Your post about Tyra touched me deeply, enough where I couldn’t think of anything to say. But your robocalls article made me chuckle. We had numerous calls from the politicians so I understood your joy at the quiet evening. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

