FINDING HOPE IN SUFFERING – Pt. 1

“Wherefore, as by one man sin entered into the world, and death by sin; and so death passed upon all men, for that all have sinned”   Romans 5:12

The Bible says that all suffering is part of life because of sin.  And we know that sin is here because of a choice at the beginning of Creation when Adam and Eve chose to disobey God.

We have all, at some time or another, wondered why God allows such suffering and pain in our lives.

An unbeliever will look at the world’s suffering and ask how there can be a loving God if He allows this pain to happen.  They reason that if there is a loving God that can do anything, surely He would step in and stop all of the tragedies and problems.

They do not understand man’s sin and God’s holiness.  It is because He is holy that He cannot condone sin and immoral behavior.

“For they that are after the flesh do mind the things of the flesh: but they that are after the Spirit the things of the Spirit.  For to be carnally minded is death; but to be spiritually minded is life and peace.  Because the carnal mind is enmity against God …. then they that are in the flesh cannot please God.”   Romans 8:5-8

It may seem difficult at times, especially as we go through a valley of despair, but there are lessons to learn from our suffering.

“Be not deceived, God is not mocked, for whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap.”  Galatians 6:7

Suffering tells us that there are consequences to all of our actions.

The consequences of Adam and Eve’s first sin were handed down to us.  They lost their fellowship with God in the Garden of Eden.  Their lives from that point on were filled with fear, pain, problems.  They also would suffer an eventual death.

All the generations since have needed a way to restore that fellowship, but our lives are still filled with suffering and death.

It is how we choose to respond to the suffering that makes all the difference.  We can choose to be angry and to turn away from our Creator, or we can acknowledge our need of Him.

Many realize, in the very deepest part of their suffering, that they cannot handle things on their own; and they choose to place their trust in Jesus Christ.

In part 2 we will begin to look at what hope there is in suffering.

© Drusilla Mott and https://drusillamott.wordpress.com, 2012

13 thoughts on “FINDING HOPE IN SUFFERING – Pt. 1

  1. Two sentences pop out at me: “They do not understand man’s sin and God’s holiness.” and “Suffering tells us that there are consequences to all of our actions.” I think the connection between the two is accountability. To understand man’s sin, God’s holiness and suffering requires acknowledging one’s accountability for his/her choices.
    Great post, Dru. Looking forward to part 2.
    Keep the Faith!

    Like

    • Melis, we all still sin. But having Jesus as our Savior should give us the strength and conviction to not sin. The sign of a life truly dedicated to the Lord is that sin ceases to have power over the believer, making it easier not to sin. Yes, we still mess up and occasionally do sin, but it is then that we go to Jesus and ask for forgiveness for that sin. He is faithful and just and will forgive our sin if we confess and seek forgiveness.

      This does not give us a free license to sin, but rather convicts us of our ability to not live in a continual sinful lifestyle. The sign that someone has not given their life to Jesus is that they habitually and willfully continue to do what they know to be sin.

      For myself, I want to do what God wants me to do. I love Him and want to do what is right in His eyes. That desire makes it easy for me to turn away from sin. Yes, I still do things that are sin – not doing what He is telling me when He is telling me; doing what I want even though I feel He is telling me not to. But having Jesus as my Savior convicts me when I sin and then I know I have sinned and must seek forgiveness.

      I also know that there will be consequences to my sin that I will eventually have to face up to. This is where some of our suffering comes from.

      Like

  2. Hello Drusilla,

    Wonderful post! There was a link to this post in my dashboard, and I’m glad I stopped by. “Many realize, in the very deepest part of their suffering, that they cannot handle things on their own; and they choose to place their trust in Jesus Christ.” I am one of the many. Had it not been for my relationship with the Lord, I truly do not know how I would handle all I go through on a daily basis, suffering from RSD. I look forward to reading part two of this series. God bless you!

    Paulette

    Like

  3. You said….”They do not understand man’s sin and God’s holiness. It is because He is holy that He cannot condone sin and immoral behavior.” This is the answer!!! We MUST understand God and understand His HOLINESS!!! We wouldn’t have so many questions and so much trouble if we did. GREAT blog!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

