HOW GOD USED JEFF GORDON TO CHANGE MY PRAYER LIFE – Pt. 2

When I found out about Jeff Gordon’s divorce, I questioned, I searched, I petitioned God for direction on what it was I was supposed to do about it.  I did not want to support him if he was not worthy of my support.  I was ready to turn my back on him, if God told me to.

I continued to hear talk about his lifestyle; and as the details of his divorce started surfacing, I continued to ask God what I was supposed to do about him.

And each time, I was given a verse in the Bible that told me what to do.

The first time I was told the rumor about his lifestyle, I prayed for God to show me whether to believe it or not.

The Bible verse that was part of my devotional that day was  Matt. 18:16  “…That in the mouth of two or three witnesses every word may be established.”

2 Corinthians 13:1  says the same thing: “In the mouth of two or three witnesses shall every word be established.”

I took this to mean that unless something was documented as being the truth, I was not to believe it.

When I began to get angry and un-Christ-like in my thoughts, I found that day’s reading was in James:

3:17:  “But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, and easy to be intreated, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality and without hypocrisy.  And the fruit of righteousness is sown in peace of them that make peace.”

4:11,12 “Speak not evil one of another, brethren.  He that speaketh evil of his brother, and judgeth his brother, speaketh evil of the law, and judgeth the law: but if thou judge the law, thou art not a doer of the law, but a judge.  There is one lawgiver, who is able to save and to destroy: who art thou that judgest another?”

Those same verses came to me again when I began to sit in judgment of his actions.

I also was drawn to Matthew 7:1&2  “Judge not, that ye be not judged.  For with what judgment ye judge, ye shall be judged: and with what measure ye mete, it shall be measured to you again.”

And then there was James 2:10  “For whosoever shall keep the whole law, and yet offend in one point, he is guilty of all.”

These verses  told me that we all sin, and that no matter what the sin, it is all equal in God’s eyes.  I also learned from these verses that I was not to stand in judgment, but I was to continue to pray for him.

James 5: 16 says  “Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed.  The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.”

And when I hesitated to pray, I found James was once again the devotional for that day:

James 4:17  “Therefore to him that knoweth good, and doeth it not, to him it is sin.”

This verse told me that if I did not pray as the Lord was directing me, then I would be sinning against God through disobedience.

So, I began to pray… and pray… and pray.

I’ll tell you about those prayers and how they came about next week.

© Drusilla Mott and https://drusillamott.wordpress.com, 2012

11 thoughts on “HOW GOD USED JEFF GORDON TO CHANGE MY PRAYER LIFE – Pt. 2

    • Thank you Jeanne. It was amazing to see the direction God led me in and how He did it. One thing I didn’t add is that I read Our Daily Bread, and it was through those pages that those verses came to me. Always the appropriate verse, just on the day that I needed the lesson – even though the booklet had probably been published months before!

      Like

Leave a Reply

