WATCHING GOD WORK BEHIND THE SCENES

A few weeks ago, my oldest brother was taken from work by ambulance to one of the local hospitals with pneumonia.  About a week later, I received a phone call from my mother that they were transferring him to the SUNY Upstate Hospital in Syracuse.

I requested prayer, and then sat and watched as fellow bloggers rallied at the Lord’s calling to pray for him as he was undergoing surgery to drain the fluid from his chest and lungs.

I rejoiced in awe at the way God worked on behalf of my brother, working in their hearts to uplift him in prayer.

My faith was strengthened, as was the faith of family members.

He came home a week ago and while still sore and weak, he is improving daily and I ask for continued prayer on his behalf for continued healing and a full return to health.

Then, last week, there came another trial – a bigger, harder trial.

As I sit and write this, my heart is heavy with loss and a deep pain for loved ones that are hurting. At the same time, I am left in grateful awe at the working of the Lord on behalf of those loved ones.

As some of you may know, my stepdaughter’s fiancée passed away suddenly last week.  We are not sure really what happened, just know that he stopped breathing Tuesday morning and suffered complete shut down of his internal organs.

They took him off life support Wednesday and he was gone in seconds.

As the last few days have gone by, I have listened and seen how God worked to give my stepdaughter the support she needed.

From leading her younger brother to move back home just a few months ago so that he would be there for her now; to leading an older brother to call and check on her as she waited at the hospital Tuesday – completely unaware of what was happening.  He immediately packed some clothes and set out from Rhode Island.

God worked through an internet failure Wednesday morning, getting service just long enough for the prayer request to be read and posted before it shut back down again.

He once again rallied people from around the world to pray as the fight for our future son-in-law’s life was being waged.

He led a fellow blogger to write an article on the assurance that He would be there in the midst of an illness and would lead the loved one home to heaven when they died.  This article was posted Wednesday morning before my prayer request was even sent out.

Through it all, I could see His hand working on behalf of my stepdaughter; building up a network of prayer and support to uphold her during this time.

I ask that you continue to pray for her and her two children – one a dear baby girl that is just three weeks old, the other a son who will be 9 in July.  This boy’s dad was killed in a motorcycle accident 2 1/2 years ago.

I ask that you continue to pray for her fiancée’s other son, a boy of around 6; and for the rest of his family – parents, brothers and sisters, nieces and nephews.

I also ask that you continue to pray for the rest of our family as we are all feeling the loss of this dear man.

Thank you dear brothers and sisters in Christ, for your prayer support, your love and encouragement.  May God bless you all richly.

~  ~  ~  ~  ~

On a side note – I would also ask that you pray for my son who will be having shoulder surgery on Tuesday February 14th to repair a complete labrum tear and a partial rotator cuff tear.

~  ~  ~  ~  ~

On a more ‘normal’ note – I have not done anything here for a week and have over 300 emails that I need to sort through.  Please forgive me if I do not get to all of your posts for a while.  I promise to do the best I can.

© Drusilla Mott and https://drusillamott.wordpress.com, 2012

10 thoughts on “WATCHING GOD WORK BEHIND THE SCENES

  1. Thanks for extolling the faithfulness of God, and His timely intervention that many would deem “coincidence.” We know better. My heart goes out to you and your family at this time. Hugs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

