WHAT I BELIEVE – THINGS PRESENT

I believe man is saved by grace through faith in Jesus Christ. [ John 1:12; Galatians 3:26] That salvation is a gift of God and cannot be earned through works, baptism or anything else that man can do. [Ephesians 2:8; II Timothy 1:9; Titus 3:4-7]

I believe that when a person truly accepts the saving grace offered through the blood of the cross, that the believer is eternally secure and will not lose His salvation.  [John 5:24, 6:35-40, 10:28-30; Romans 8:28-31, 37-39; Ephesians 1:4-5; Philippians 1:6; II Timothy 1:12, 2:19; I Peter 1:2]

I believe Jesus is the mediator between us and God, and that He intercedes on our behalf.  [John 14:13-14, 16; I Timothy 2:5; Hebrews 7:25, 12:24]

I believe it is only through Him that we can reach the Father. [John 1:12; 3:15-18, 3:36, 14:6; Romans 5:1-2; Galatians 3:26]

I believe that accepting this salvation and repenting from sin gives us a new nature and fills us with God’s own Spirit. [Luke 24:49; John 14:23-27; Acts 1:4-8; Titus 3:4-7]

I believe God’s purpose for giving us His Spirit is to make us holy. [I Peter 1:15-16]

I believe that when we are saved, the Holy Spirit indwells us, to strengthen us, guide us and intercede for us.  [John 14:16-26, 16:13; Acts 9:31; Romans 8:11, 26-27; I Corinthians 2:10-16]

I believe that full immersion Water Baptism in the name of the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit is an act of obedience and a public testimony of our faith in Jesus. [Matthew 28:19-20; Mark 16:15-16; Acts 2:38, 10:47; Romans 6:4-5; Colossians 2:12]

I believe that each believer should have fellowship with other believers and should become a member of a local church for edification and spiritual growth. [Acts 2:42; Hebrews 10:24-25; I John 1:7]

I believe that Holy Communion, the Lord’s Supper, represents the body and blood of Jesus.  I believe that it should be observed in remembrance of His death for our sins until He comes again. [ Matthew 26:26-29; Mark 14:22-25; Luke 22:19-20; I Corinthians 11:23-26]

I believe that all born-again Christians have a duty to grow in the knowledge and admonition of the Lord so that we are always ready and able to explain why we believe in our Lord and Savior.  [II Timothy 2:15, 3:16-17; I Peter 3:15]

I believe that disciples of Christ are to take the gospel into the whole world.  [Matthew 28:18-20; Mark 16:15; Romans 10:13-15]

I believe that believers in Jesus are to live in this world, but not be involved in the things of this world because this world is not our home. [John 14:2-3; Hebrews 11:13-16; I Peter 1:17 ]

I believe that those of us that have accepted Jesus as Savior have a home in heaven and that we are here on this earth to do God’s will and bring Him glory. [II Corinthians 5:6; Hebrews 11:13-16]

I believe that all who have given their lives to Him are adopted into God’s family; co-heirs with Jesus and at death will be welcomed into His presence. [John 14:2-3; Romans 8:14-17; Galatians 3:26,29, 4:5& 7; Titus 3:4-7]

© Drusilla Mott and https://drusillamott.wordpress.com, 2012

7 thoughts on “WHAT I BELIEVE – THINGS PRESENT

  1. I believe Jesus is the mediator between us and God, and that He intercedes on our behalf. [John 14:13-14, 16; I Timothy 2:5; Hebrews 7:25, 12:24]

    This one, i always struggle with just like all humans!

    These are beautiful snippets. I can understand these. I am still hard-pressed to give up on my own bootstraps. Hard-learned lessons of childhood.

    But there is peace in knowing that i can connect with other believers when i am ready. I AM connected to other believers now … i just have BIG BOOTS!!! xoxo melis

    Like

  2. Like your witness…yes salvation is a free and unmeritted gift from God but we have to unwrap this gift and live it! I do have a quick question, what you make of the following scriptures:

    Therefore, let us leave behind the basic teaching about Christ and advance to maturity, without laying the foundation all over again: repentance from dead works and faith in God, instruction about baptisms and laying on of hands, resurrection of the dead and eternal judgment. And we shall do this, if only God permits.

    Hebrew 6:1-3

    Repetence comes first, then baptism and laying on of the hands (confirmation), ressurection and eternal jugedgement. Baptisims is an integral part of salvation not just an ordenance but something that impart a free and unmerrited grace to our souls.

    We were indeed buried with him through baptism into death, so that, just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, we too might live in newness of life. For if we have grown into union with him through a death like his, we shall also be united with him in the resurrection. We know that our old self was crucified with him, so that our sinful body might be done away with, that we might no longer be in slavery to sin.

    Romans 6:4-6

    You see baptism is not just a symbolic religious act but something profoundly real and radical is happening. Literally your old self-dies and the new self arise with Christ from the dead!

    And what about Peter’s word when he says point blank: baptism now saves you?

    Corresponding to that, baptism now saves you– not the removal of dirt from the flesh, but an appeal to God for a good conscience– through the resurrection of Jesus Christ…

    1 Peter 3:21

    In charity,

    Caleb

    Like

Leave a Reply

