THIS IS THE DAY THE LORD HAS MADE – repost

I originally published this post July 6 but decided to repost it for those of you that have not read it.

“This is the day the Lord has made, we will rejoice and be glad in it.”   Psalm 118:24

One of my favorite verses; even though sometimes it is so hard to uphold.

I find myself thinking this verse quite often in the morning, reminding myself that I have so much to be grateful for.

1. The Lord has gotten me through the night and has given me a new day of life.

2. I have a roof over my head; food to eat; a family to love, and who loves me.

3. I have all my limbs, I can see and I can hear.

4. Though I am in pain most days from injuries sustained throughout my life, I am in relatively good health.

5. Most of all, my Lord loves me, died for me, and has given me the promise of eternal life spent with Him.

So with all these blessings, why is it that there are days that it is hard to rejoice?

One of the things I have learned is that I need to start my day in prayer and Bible study.

When I have my quiet time first thing, I bring myself into His presence, giving Him the lead position for the day.  Then when I follow Him through the day, everything seems to be easier to handle.

If I go into my day without spending time with God, my day is started at the bottom of the hill, leaving a long hard climb to get to the finish.

I find that when I don’t spend time with Him, I get too wrapped up in my ‘doing’ and I forget to be still and know that He is God.  I forget to draw strength from Him and think that I have to do it all under my own power.

When I begin to feel that I am being pulled in a million directions all at the same time, I allow the frustration and stress to bury me under their heavy weight.  My joy and rejoicing turns to irritation and grumbling, ruining the day the Lord has made.

It is my prayer today that I spend my day rejoicing in the blessings God has given me.

This is the day the Lord has made …

…how do you begin the day to insure that you can rejoice in it?

© Drusilla Mott and https://drusillamott.wordpress.com, 2011

8 thoughts on “THIS IS THE DAY THE LORD HAS MADE – repost

  1. Morning Drusilla
    I, too, start my day with prayer, thanksgiving and confession
    I give it up to the Lord – sometimes taking it all back too many times during the day
    But the Lord patiently guides me back to His open arms
    God Bless
    susie @ sptp

    Like

    • Susie, I have had days where I didn’t start my day with Him because of other demands, ended my day with Him instead, and the day was a disaster. This just makes for a better, more peaceful, more productive day.

      Like

  2. I must start my day in prayer! Sometimes it is hard to rejoice, like this morning when we lost our pastor, but I reminded that he has gone on to the glory land! Halleluiah!
    God Bless You! Excellent Post!
    Dei

    Like

    • Dei, I am sorry about your pastor. I know we can rejoice when we are sure they have gone to be with the Lord, but the loss is still hard. I will be praying for you and your church. Thank you for stopping in.

      Like

  3. So true Drusilla! Excellent post. I work nights and start my evenings with Heidi and Henry. When they go to sleep, my nights begin with Him. Thank you for this lovely reminder that this is the day (or the night) that the Lord has made! 😀
    Debbie

    Like

    • Thank you Debbie. I guess I learned the hard way on this one by putting it off until later and then later came and there were too many other things going on so that by the time I got to it, it was bedtime. Not a good way to live out the days!

      Like

Leave a Reply

