MY CHRISTMAS 2011

Good morning, all.

I hope each of you had a joyous celebration of our Savior’s birth.

Mine started out slow and not very well.

Everything went wrong from the time I got out of bed until late afternoon.

I won’t bore you with the details – just say that Satan was having a field-day trying to ruin my day.  I tried hard not to let things get to me, to let the peace of the day fill me; but have to admit by evening I was a little quite irritated.

But then 7:00 arrived and a young man came to my door, all the way from California.

This mother’s heart melted and wept to have the first Christmas with him in 4 or 5 years.

We sat and talked about his job, his life in the west.

We reminisced about past Christmases when I would pound on his bedroom door at 6:00 Christmas morning, and hear the teenage voice tell me to go away because he was trying to sleep.

We talked about favorite foods, Christmas foods, and he once again tried to tell me how much I enjoyed sushi when he brought some last summer.  (bleh)

He showed us pictures of his cat sitting on the suitcase as if to keep him from packing and flying home for Christmas (either that or trying to tell him to bring her with him when he came).

He showed us pictures of activities he had gone to and participated in over the last few months – concerts and sporting events he attended, volunteering at a Thanksgiving dinner for the needy, and photos he had taken where he works.

When he left, taking a pie-tin filled with  Grandma Henderson’s Sugar Cookies,  it was close to midnight and all of my irritation with the rest of the day had vanished as if it had never been.

(J, I so enjoyed the time spent with you; and am so glad we got to spend part of the day together.  I am looking forward to tomorrow’s breakfast.  I love you.)

Have a blessed day, everyone.

© Drusilla Mott and https://drusillamott.wordpress.com, 2011

6 thoughts on “MY CHRISTMAS 2011

Leave a Reply

