“THE PRAYER OF JABEZ” by BRUCE WILKINSON- a book review

“And Jabez was more honorable than his brethren: and his mother called his name Jabez, saying, Because I bare him with sorrow.  And Jabez called on the God of Israel, saying, Oh that thou wouldest bless me indeed, and enlarge my coast, and that thine hand might be with me, and that thou wouldest keep me from evil, that it may not grieve me!  And God granted him that which he requested.”   1 Chronicles 4:9-10

I have been reading “The Prayer of Jabez” written by Bruce Wilkinson; praying the prayer each day as I read a little more.

The book is about the prayer of a man named Jabez, who was listed in the midst of all those names in 1 Chronicles chapter 4; and tells how to use that prayer to live an extraordinary life for God.

It outlines each section of the prayer, and explains what each means and how to apply it in life:

Ask the Lord for blessings each day – and leave it up to Him on what type of blessing you receive.

Ask that your territory be enlarged – request that He give you more influence, more people, more area, more opportunities to reach others for Him.  Ask for a miracle in what He wants you to do.

Ask that His hand be with you – because when He starts expanding your influence and your testimony, filling your life with His blessings and opportunities, it will seem overwhelming and you will need Him to step in and work on your behalf.  Those are the tasks that we would fail at unless God steps in, creating in us a dependence on Him that is imperative.

Ask that you be kept from evil – ask that you be supernaturally protected from Satan’s attacks.  This is not asking for strength to go through temptations and problems, but to be kept out of them.

With each chapter, the author also tells of true encounters in his life and the lives of others that have prayed this prayer every morning for years.

I have noticed since I have begun to pray this prayer, I am filled with a renewed sense of purpose.  I am filled with excitement and joy and thanksgiving at new opportunities that may be ahead.

I plan on following the advice in the back of the book and keeping track of the changes I see in my life as I apply myself to this prayer; and will post updates here periodically on what is happening.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone that wants to step out of their comfort zone and really live above and beyond the normal everyday existence.

For those interested, it is available at Amazon.com and Christian Book Distributors.

Footnote — the verse I used is from the King James version.  The verses used in the book are from The Holy Bible  New King James Version from Thomas Nelson Publishing and from Tyndale House’s The Living Bible.

© Drusilla Mott and https://drusillamott.wordpress.com, 2011

17 thoughts on ““THE PRAYER OF JABEZ” by BRUCE WILKINSON- a book review

  1. This is great. Thank you for sharing as it reminds me when I purchased The Prayer of Jabez and sent it to my husband when he was deployed to Iraq in 2003. Praise God my husband returned home safely to me and our 5 children. During that time, I wish I could have sent many more copies but what blessings in multitude I found out was that many soldiers were getting saved and baptized over there. The joy that filled my heart as my husband shared that news! He’s retired Army but still working as a RN ( nurse ) on the military instillation here in NC. ( Fort Bragg ) where he holds bible study during lunch for all who want to attend. What an awesome God we serve! If we put out faith and trust in Him, that servants heart to bring others to Christ will come to pass!! Praise the Lord!

    God bless you Drucilla! I look forward to getting to know you through both of your blogs.

    In Christ,

    Terra
    http://virtuouswoman73.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. Hi Dru I have read this book in fact I still have it, a few things stand out apart from what you shared about enlarging our territory which was very good and which we need to be seeking for, how about blogging down under, I’m going to start an Aussie Blog, is that increasing your Territory enough.

    I was visiting Bernadette’s Blog and she was sharing about the Persecuted Church and those who are Martyred for standing up for Jesus today, I also posted a Story about this. Jesus said it would be this way in the end times and it was the same in the early Church, in Truth very few survived they were either Crucified or thrown to the Lions but they didn’t back down and our Martyrs don’t today either. The other Truth that stood out was when Jabez asked that his sin not grieve him he recognised it was not God but his own sin that caused him to suffer and in Jesus Christ we have been set free from the bondage of sin… How good is that!

    Thanks Dru – Christian Love Annie.

    Like

    • I agree Annie. I will be praying with you that your Aussie Blog will increase and advance God’s kingdom; bringing others to repentence. Maybe if we can get enough people to take on this crusade, we can really make an impact for the Lord.

      Like

    • Hi Bro Pat. Thank you for stopping in. It is my prayer that if we can get enough people to start praying this, we can really do great things for the Lord. I am filled with excitement to see how the Lord leads and to see what He would have us accomplish for Him through His strength.

      Like

  3. Pingback: MY 7X7 LINK AWARD | Drusilla Mott

  4. Pingback: Breakthrough Update | Drusilla Mott

Leave a Reply

