TEACH US TO NUMBER OUR DAYS

I happened to glance at the calendar the other day and was shocked to realize that Thanksgiving is next week.

I mean, I knew it was coming up, but I guess it just hadn’t sunk in yet.

As I stood there looking at the date, I thought back over the year, surprised that it will be over in just seven weeks.

It seemed like it was only just last week that my uncle had contracted pneumonia (it was at the beginning of January), and it seems like just yesterday that he preached his last sermon and moved four hours away (that was in May).

I looked at the calendar again and realized that tomorrow, the 17th, would be my dog Kayla’s twelfth birthday.  It suddenly hit me that it has been a year and a half since she died.  I can’t believe that so much time has gone by, and I still miss her like it was just yesterday that we told her goodbye.

As I stood there, my mind went back even farther to all the things that have happened over the years.

My husband’s mother died 3 years ago, his dad died 7 years ago this February.

My dad has been gone 20 years, my grandparents at least that long.

As I thought about all the years that have come and gone, I was reminded of the Psalm that Moses wrote.

In my New King James Nelson Study Bible it explains that Psalm 90 was a lament that complained about God’s judgment and the brevity of life.  But it also shows that even in the midst of their sorrow, the people acknowledged that they were safe in God’s care.

The one verse that came to mind was verse 12:  “So teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.”

As the Study Bible explains, this verse asks for an understanding of the meaning of life, and learning to value the time we have by using it for eternal purposes.

As I realized in my thought journey, time goes by so quickly.  Before we know it, a lifetime has come and gone.

And when it’s gone, it can not be gotten back.

If we are not purposely living that life for Christ, what good is it going to be?

© Drusilla Mott and https://drusillamott.wordpress.com, 2011

10 thoughts on “TEACH US TO NUMBER OUR DAYS

  1. Surely life is not worth living if not lived for Christ, thank you for sharing 🙂 Allow me to click the share button to Twitter, I want my friends to read over 🙂 God bless in your Thanksgiving day!

    Like

  2. Drusilla, in the midst of people and circumstance changes, it is reassuring that we have a God who changes not – one Constancy in a sea of change, one Anchor that holds us in the storms of life. Praise the Lord. Lots to be thankful for. Early happy thanksgiving as you plan.

    Like

  3. Hi Dru, as I read your message this morning and the Scripture you shared it got me thinking…

    Psalm 90:12 “So teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.”

    This motivated me to adapt the message I did on wisdom and I post it on Kingdoms Garden,
    I added more Scripture because there are so many that tell us how important it is to have Godly wisdom, if we are going to number our Days and as you shared Dru, it needs to be God’s way.

    Thank you for your message it was encouraging and uplifting .

    Blog post …http://alifeofhopeandjoy.wordpress.com/2011/11/16/the-gaining-of-wisdom/

    Christian Love Annie

    Like

Leave a Reply

