SATURDAY SCRAP — FAITH

Here is another page from my A-Z scrapbook, again from ‘F’.  The pages are nothing fancy, but just the songs express my faith in God.  Thanks for stopping in today.

The first one is my favorite hymn “He Died for Me”.  I was going to just post the words, but then thought I had access to the old hymnal that it was in when I was in high school.  So here is the page from the hymnal so you can sing it if you wish instead of just reading it.  🙂  Debbie, this is for you.

11 thoughts on “SATURDAY SCRAP — FAITH

  1. Thanks for drawing us back to the old-time hymns! They brought out the true meanings of the gospel. I have trouble getting into “it” when singing the one-syllable worded “songs” you hear too much in the church today. “Give me that old-time religion!”

    Like

    • I agree, Jeanne. I listen to the modern Christian Praise songs and the Christian Rock songs quite often at home and in the car. And while some of them are okay in the church, I would rather have the old-time hymns that I grew up singing. They touch me more than any of the modern stuff ever could.

      Like

  2. Drusilla – Thank you, thank you! It’s even more beautiful printed in the old loved book.
    You’re a dear heart – and this is SO what my own heart needed tonight!
    My Sunday song for tomorrow was going to be ‘Tis So Sweet to Trust in Jesus – but a few pnes calls from friends prompted me to change to a more contemporary song by Andrew Peterson.
    My heart, however, is moved so deeply by hymns. So next week I’m sure it’ll be back to the old book.
    Thank you my friend. How very kind and very timely you are.
    Debbie

    Like

    • Thanks Debbie. So glad you liked it. You were the only other one I had ever heard of that knew the song. And after our little ‘discussion’ a few weeks ago, I knew I had to post these pages. I really wish I could find a video or a recording of a choir singing this song. If you ever find one, let me know.

      Like

  3. Hi Dru, I’m sorry I didn’t know you had posted again I keep being unscribed to you and others, until this problem is corrected could you please let me know when you post, although I will keep checking from now on… I’m still waiting for your other Scrapbooking to arrive.???? well done with this one.

    I Love all types of music except what man distorts or lyric’s that are in error, they upset me. God tells us to have a balance in Music, sadly today we don’t always see this in the Churches. Melody in Greek means stringed instruments but whether we play them or sing it must come from our hearts t and we are to be in Unity which comes from Love and having the same focus and of one mind.

    Ephesians 5:18-20 And be not drunk with wine, wherein is excess; but be filled with the Spirit; Speaking to yourselves in Psalms and Hymns and Spiritual songs, singing and making Melody in your heart to the Lord; Giving thanks always for all things unto God and the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ;

    Colossians 3:15-17 And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to which also you were called in one body; and be thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom, teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord. And whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.

    Music has many wonderful memories for every Generation and we see this in the Church History… Hymns then Scripture or Psalms in Song and what we have mainly today Spiritual songs, most Christian Music falls within these three groups and they all are beautiful but of course words must be checked for error, one Hymn talks about worshiping Mother god and God being weary these are in error. But even some Music classified as non Christian can touch our heart, The Holy Sprit leaves His Truth everywhere, I will share more about this on my Blog soon.

    I did find a link for you Dru on He died for me but it is just written words and Music.- http://hymnal.calvarybaptistsv.org/63.html

    In the next few days I’m going to share about how I nailed Jesus to the cross and how He set me free, it’s a hard hitting Testimony but needed because it gives Hope. Sorry I didnt realise how long my comment was.

    Love you Dru in the Lord, your friend Annie.

    Like

    • Thank you Annie for the link. I love the music and the words. When I was in school I wrote the entire song in the front page of my notebook so every time I opened it, it was there for me to read. And don’t worry about not knowing about my posts. I’ve been having trouble with making comments and clicking the ‘like’ button on other people’s posts. I know of a couple others that have been having trouble also. It might be wordpress problems and not ours. I’m not sure. I am going to try to post Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday here and Monday thru Friday at ChristianBlessings. I did a post a couple weeks ago explaining it. Maybe that is one you didn’t get? Have a blessed day.

      Like

      • How beautiful to hear of a Child whose Love for the Lord was so strong and how wonderful in your heart is His song and how wonderful that to Him you belong.

        God bless you greatly Dru – Christian Love your Sister in The Lord – Annie

        Like

Leave a Reply

