TAKE ON THE DAY

“But let all those that put their trust in thee rejoice: let them ever shout for joy, because thou defendest them: let them also that love thy name be joyful in thee.”   Psalm 4:11

I saw a commercial the other day for orange juice.  This lady was sitting at the end of a table with other people sitting around the table with her.  She poured herself a glass of orange juice and asked the others what was on her agenda for the day.

The girl, presumably the woman’s daughter, tells her that she will roll her eyes at the woman when the woman tells her what to wear.  The man at the other end of the table tells her the elevators will be out and she will have to walk down 18 flights of stairs, in her high heels.

She lifts the glass of orange juice in a ‘toast’ and says, “It’s a good thing I have my orange juice.”

The narrated caption at the end is “Take on the Day”.

Seeing the commercial gave me pause.

It made me think of how grateful I am that I do not need to look to others for direction in my day to day living.

“The steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord: and he delighted in his way.  Though he fall, he shall not be utterly cast down: for the Lord uphold him with his hand.”  Psalm 37:23-24

How blessed are we to have One that knows exactly what is going to happen to us during our day; One that has promised to be with us through that day no matter what?

We have His assurance that if we pray and put the day in His hands, we can face our day with confidence.  We can “Take On The Day” in His strength.

It’s a good thing we have our Jesus.

10 thoughts on “TAKE ON THE DAY

  1. I, too, get surprised like that, and also wonder what things I might have missed along the way because my mind was busy with something else. I appreciate your uplifting and encouraging words. With the writing goal I have ahead of me, I knew I needed to take the time to read your post, it is always worth the time. Thanks.

    Like

    • Thank you Patti for taking the time to visit in between your writing. I too think about the times I may have missed something, and can quite often see where I missed that still small voice trying to get my attention. But when I do hear, and listen, the blessings are unimaginable.

      Like

Leave a Reply

