NOW IS THE DAY OF SALVATION

Our church has started a study of I Thessalonians.

I would like to share some of what has been discussed over the past few weeks as we studied chapters 1-4:12.

Dr. Jones talked about the blessings from being a follower of Jesus Christ:  The strength that we have to rely on, the fellowship with other believers, the promise of eternal life spent with Him when we die.  All those things that come from having a personal relationship with Jesus.

Dr. Jones also talked about the possibility of being persecuted: being slandered by lies, having family and friends turn against you; being imprisoned and murdered because of our faith.

He told about a man living in another country where the Christians were being persecuted.  The military was approaching their village to arrest the Christians, and this man could not flee because of a disability.  He told his family to go, and then he stayed behind.  Despite a severe beating, he would not renounce his faith in Jesus.

We were asked if we would be able to stand firm in our faith if confronted with the same physical danger.

We are so blessed in these United States to have the freedom to gather together and worship our Lord.  Most of us do not realize what it is like to live with daily persecution and danger.

Dr. Jones also  told about someone that he had met who has been diagnosed with stage 4 cancer and given only months to live.

Then he posed the question:

If you knew you only had a few months, how would your lives change?  What would you do differently?  Then he admonished us to live each day as if we knew we would be meeting the Lord tomorrow, because we just might.

He also discussed sanctification and keeping our bodies pure, reminding us that our bodies are the temple of the Lord, the dwelling place of the Holy Spirit.

He advised us that we should think before we step into anything questionable and ask ourselves:  If Jesus came now, would I be ashamed to have Him find me doing this?

He reminded us of the saying:  ‘Only one life, ‘twil soon be past; Only what’s done for Christ will last.’

All of these things have me seriously examining my own life, my own activities and making me more aware of how I spend my time.

Now I want to ask you:

What if it were today?  Are you ready for the Lord’s return?

“…Behold, now is the accepted time; behold, now is the day of salvation.”    II Corinthians 6:2

*    *    *    *    *

Post script: This was intended for posting last week, but my mom’s birthday wish took its place.  As I was visiting the blogs I follow, I found a number of other bloggers who posted something along similar lines.

These are a few of those that I discovered in the last few weeks:

STPT2011 — The Last Day of My Life

Women’s Window — Are We Home Yet?

Wordsmith’s Desk — Life Is Fragile

ChristianBlessings — Share

If you haven’t already done so, please check them out.  Each one has inspired and encouraged and made me think.

It is my belief that God is working in each of us, telling us to write about the same topic at the same time from our individual viewpoints, because He wants the message to reach as many people as possible through our blogs.  I can only come to the conclusion that time is, indeed, short.

The harvest is plenteous, but the laborers are few.” Matthew 9:37

Thanks and have a blessed day.

© Drusilla Mott and https://drusillamott.wordpress.com, 2011

11 thoughts on “NOW IS THE DAY OF SALVATION

  1. Hi Drusilla, thank you for sharing this powerful message and thanks for the Links. A friend who posted on my Blog recently said she was going to have a cuppa at Starbucks, so remembering I had a story about it I thought I would post it for her in Gifts for Friends and when I did I was once again reminded of how short life can be … Life is a gift we need to appreciate, it may only be a neo second in Eternity but is very important, it impacts our whole Destiny.

    Thanks again, I enjoyed the Cuppa, it was very rich and satisfying and I so were the cookies.

    Christian Love Anne.

    Like

  2. This is such a wonderful post Drusilla. And it definitely makes me put a perspective on my life. Live like Jesus is coming tomorrow! I love it!!! Thank you so much for sharing…Robin

    Like

    • Hi Jackie, thanks so much for visiting and leaving a comment! I have tried to alternate topics between my faith, my family, and my writing, but normally most of them are woven around my faith. Please come back for another visit — I’ll be sure to stop by and visit you too.

      Like

  3. Pingback: MY 7X7 LINK AWARD | Drusilla Mott

Leave a Reply

