HAPPY BIRTHDAY, MOM

Today is my mom’s 86th birthday.

She was born in a small farmhouse   and grew up through the Great Depression.  Her dad, an ordained minister, brought each one of his children up to serve the Lord with whatever talent they were given.

She started teaching Sunday School when in her late teens, and did not stop teaching until failing mobility forced her to.  Even now, she misses the interaction with all of those children whose lives she touched.

Through her teen years and young adult life, her parents and siblings mostly made up their church choir.

FRONT ROW: IN THE MIDDLE IS MY GRANDFATHER, NEXT, TO THE RIGHT, IS MY GRANDMOTHER. BACK ROW: ON THE LEFT IS MY UNCLE CARUS, THEN MY AUNT NINA, SECOND FROM THE RIGHT IS MY MOM, RIGHT END IS MY UNCLE DAVID, WHO JUST RETIRED FROM THE MINISTRY AT OUR CHURCH.

Because of her married name, she has the same name of one of America’s leading TV moms, and we often joke when she is introduced to someone new:  “And yes, she can sing.”  I love to stand next to her in church and listen to her beautiful alto voice as she worships her Savior.

She has such a strong faith in God, passed down from her parents; and from an early age she instilled in us a faith and love for the Lord.

She is always there when her children and grandchildren need her, always putting others before herself.

She has taught me so much, loved me so completely.

Now that I have brought up a son of my own, and have grandchildren, I find myself praying that I will leave the same legacy as my mom left for me.  I want to be remembered for being the type of person my mother is.  Loving, caring, giving, faithful to her Savior.

Mom, thank you for being the best mom a girl could ask for.  Thank you for being there through all the trials, mistakes, tears and joy.  Thank you for keeping me wrapped in prayer, and for teaching me to have a close, abiding relationship with Jesus Christ.

You are not only my mom, but a best friend too.

I love you more than words can ever express.

Happy Birthday.

© Drusilla Mott and https://drusillamott.wordpress.com, 2011

14 thoughts on “HAPPY BIRTHDAY, MOM

  1. What a wonderful heritage to have Drusilla, what a wonderful Mum, what a wonderful Daughter, I consider myself very blessed that our lives touched, thank you that you do consider others before yourself as your Mum does, thank you for doing so with me and for all your help and kind words. Give your Mum a big hug from me for her Birthday and tell her well done, she did a good job.

    Christian Love Anne.

    Like

    • Thanks Annie, I feel blessed also. God is so faithful. For my family, and friends, and now my new blogging family — all my brothers & sisters in Christ. I will pass along your hug and birthday wishes.

      Like

  2. What a beautiful gift you gave to each of your readers. Allowing us to experience the wonderful gift which your mom possesses for our Lord. It is such a blessing and honor to have read your birthday wish to her. Happy Birthday to your mom, and thank you for sharing such a beautiful touching moment…Robin

    Like

  3. Pingback: MY 7X7 LINK AWARD | Drusilla Mott

  4. Pingback: This Is The Day | On Faith and Writing

Leave a Reply

