THE PERFECT PRAYER

“For this cause we also, since the day we heard it, do not cease to pray for you, and to desire that ye might be filled with the knowledge of his will in all wisdom and spiritual understanding; That ye might walk worthy of the Lord unto all pleasing, being fruitful in every good work, and increasing in the knowledge of God; Strengthened with all might, according to his glorious power, unto all patience and longsuffering with joyfulness; giving thanks unto the Father, which hath made us meet to be partakers of the inheritance of the saints in light; who hath delivered us from the power of darkness, and hath translated us into the kingdom of his dear Son: in whom we have redemption through his blood, even the forgiveness of sins.”  Colossians 1:9-14 KJV

A few years ago I saw Dr. Charles Stanley give a sermon on these verses.

He stated that this was probably the best prayer we can pray for each other.

Who would not want to have someone pray this prayer for them?

This had a profound affect on me as I thought about it.

I sat down and rewrote it into words that would be easier to pray, adding to it what I was already praying for my family and friends:

“Father, I ask that You fill ______ with the knowledge of Your will, teach them wisdom, spiritual discernment and understanding so that they may know Your will, walk within Your will, walk worthy of You and bring You glory; so that they are pleasing to You in all respects.  Help them to grow and bear fruit for eternity.  Help them to increase in Your knowledge; strengthen them with Your might and power, so they may be steadfast and patient, and can joyously give You thanks. Father, place your hedge of protection around them and keep them safe.  Please, place Your guiding hand in their lives and allow them to feel Your presence with them as they go through their day.  Help them to feel Your love and peace and joy in their heart.  Open the doors for them that You would have open, and close those doors that You would have closed.  Be with them Father and bless their lives.”

I did not tell anyone what I was praying for them.

A few months after I began to pray this, one person told me that they could actual feel God’s hand in their lives, guiding and directing them.  They said they could feel God’s presence with them as they went through their day.

Another person told me that they had been getting ‘prodded’ a lot about doing things, and could see where God was opening doors for them in their work and bringing about new opportunities.

I have seen the power of praying this prayer for others, watched as God undertook the day-to-day living of a loved one, and worked in their lives for their blessing.

His answers to this prayer have gotten me to wondering what impact we could make if people from all over the world prayed this prayer for those in their area of influence.

Do you know of someone that would benefit from having this prayer prayed for them?


© Drusilla Mott and https://drusillamott.wordpress.com, 2011

16 thoughts on “THE PERFECT PRAYER

  1. Hi Drusilla, I believe anything that helps us focus on prayer is very good – God bless you and in Love by The empowering of The Holy Spirit I seek to pray for you and all the Body of Christ that we may be filled and overflowing in all Wisdom and Spiritual understanding so we may know fully by His knowledge God’s will for us each and every day… we ask and we receive… God keeps His promises..How good is That!… James 1:4-6.

    Christian Love Anne

    Like

    • Thanks Jeanne. After I started thinking about this prayer, it got me to thinking and I started really looking at other prayers in the Bible that we can pray for each other. There are quite a few that I never really thought about as prayers to be prayed now for each other. This one just seems to cover everything and I have seen the affects of it being answered.

      Like

  2. Very life giving to pray this for people and watch their lives be transformed. I have prayed this over youth many times, and have seen the fruit it has brought. Thank you for the reminder to be life giving to all we come in contact with, and for the reminder we can all cultivate fruit in others simply by praying this prayer for them consistently. We could transform a community, a city, a state, a nation, a world! Great Post!

    Like

  3. Echoing Nancy, I can’t imagine anyone not benefiting from having this beautiful prayer, prayed for them. I would be honored to have it prayed for me as I will, at your prompting, be praying it for others as well. God bless!

    Like

Leave a Reply

