TO FOLLOW GOD COMPLETELY

I Samuel chapter 15 tells about Israel’s first king, Saul.

Saul was the man God chose to be king, but soon decided that he did not need to do what God directed him to do.  He thought that because he was king, he had the right to do what he wanted, not what God said.

He  deliberately disobeyed when God told him to wipe out one of Israel’s enemies and leave nothing alive.  He was unwilling to kill the best of the livestock, keeping them to sacrifice to the Lord.

He thought that because he killed everything but the choice livestock, he was following God’s orders.  He figured that because he was going to use them to sacrifice to God, God was going to be pleased.

What Saul refused to see was that by not doing exactly as God had told him, he was still in disobedience to Him.

Because of his disobedience, Saul was rejected as king and was replaced by David.

When I read Saul’s defense of his actions, I thought of the times when I, too, had changed God’s directive for my life in small ways.  I then tried to justify what I had done because I had only changed a tiny portion and did the rest as God had said.

When we deliberately twist or change what God wants us to do to suit ourselves, it is a conscious sin against God; oftentimes bringing consequences that we do not want.

When we have given our lives to Him, He wants us to set aside our own selfish ways and follow Him completely.

As I sit here writing this, I have to ask myself, How can we be so stupid as to not follow what God is telling us?

© Drusilla Mott and https://drusillamott.wordpress.com, 2011

 

8 thoughts on “TO FOLLOW GOD COMPLETELY

  1. Strangely enough, Drusilla, I published a piece last night on Yahoo Contributor about some inspirational Bible verses, and that issue was raised in one of those verses. Here is the link: http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/8388509/words_that_let_you_live_No._2_words.html?cat=34

    I hope the link works; if not, copy and paste it in your browser and it should take you there.

    Good post.

    Nancy
    http://www.workingmomadventures.com

    Like

    • Thank you, Nancy. I find myself wondering- is it really stange though, that we sometimes post similar articles at the same time? LeRoy and I had commented on that a few days ago, about the ‘timing’ of our thoughts and subsequent posts. I believe that God directs each of us to say what He wants said, when He wants it said. So why not use more than one person to say the same thing at the same time?

      And the link did work … I loved your thoughts. I pray you are in a better place now–physically, emotionally, spiritually.

      Like

  2. Interestingly enough, our pastor’s sermon series starting this week is a study of Samuel, and comparison of the lives of Saul and David. I notice more and more “overlap” in what bloggers in my network are writing about. Each one lends their own voice and experience, all necessary, and I believe, anointed.

    Like

  3. Not follow God in his will for our lives? Many times we feel we need to hurry God’s plan along, or maybe ignore his plan altogether as if we didn’t “hear” him! I’ve done both! And paid dearly for the privilege!

    Like

    • I know the feeling, Jeanne. I have done both, along with ‘tweeking’ His plan to suit my plans. And I, too, paid dearly for the privilege. I am so glad He is patient with us and doesn’t just give up on us!

      Like

Leave a Reply

