THANK YOU!

My decision to start this blog came about after reading some advice about developing a following and building a fan base for when my manuscript was finally published.  (I am enforcing a positive attitude by saying ‘when’ and not ‘if’.)

All the bloggers I read stated that this was something I needed to do ahead of publication so that people would know me before my novel came out.

I wondered how I was going to manage to get people to read and comment on what I posted.

I had read all the posts about building a following and their ‘tips-of-the-trade’.  I wondered how I was ever going to find something to write about as many times a week as they suggested.

I started following their advice and set up this site with WordPress.  Then I began to write blogs, and I wrote at least a dozen in advance, hoping that I would be able to keep ahead of schedule.

I opened an account on Twitter and began looking for people on there to follow; people that shared the same Christian faith, people that I could learn from, and that could encourage my faith.  I also hoped that I would eventually be an encouragement to them.

I began putting my blog posts on Twitter, and on Facebook to share with my family and friends.

I knew in advance that it was going to be slow.  I placed the speed of my ‘growth’ in God’s hands to accelerate or slow as He saw fit.

I have learned much in the three months I have been writing here.  I have begun to learn what people will like, and what they are not interested in.

I have learned how much it means to receive feedback on what we put out there.  I have seen, from both sides of the posting ‘coin’ that it is very easy to wonder if what you are doing is making a difference.

I have a friend on Facebook who daily posts little snippets from her morning Bible study.  I love reading her thoughts; they never fail to encourage and lift me up.  I thanked her one day for posting like she was and she replied that she sometimes wondered whether anyone was ‘listening’.

What I have learned the most about is the faith-based community of people that are interested in sharing and helping others.

I want to thank each one of you that have read and commented on my posts.  I appreciate your thoughtfulness and encouragement.  They are positive affirmations that someone out there is indeed ‘listening’.

I in turn promise to do my best to reciprocate that encouragement and to let you know that I appreciate what you are doing.

I feel as if we are in the beginning stages of creating friendships that will bridge the distances between our worlds.

My prayer for each is God’s blessing on your lives and your endeavors.  May he always work His will in each life and assist you in where He wants you to be.

 

© Drusilla Mott and https://drusillamott.wordpress.com, 2011

10 thoughts on “THANK YOU!

  1. I wish they’d added into the tips about how to get the housecleaning done once one has formed these new friendships! I always enjoy reading what you have to say. Thanks for sharing your faith with the online community.

    Like

    • Thank you Patti. If and when you find out how to get the housework done, while taking care of all the writing, blogging, and other social networking, let me know. I am struggling to figure out how to get it all done, short of God lengthening the days by 10 hours. : )

      Like

  2. Hi Drusilla, I found your site today through one of the blogs I follow. I was reading the comments and saw yours. I was instantly drawn to it. I wish you well with your book and all endeavors. And I can totally relate to the “is anyone listening”…It reminds me of a dream I had recently….Anyways very nice to meet you and I look forward to reading more of your posts…Robin

    Like

  3. Good Morning
    I can only say “Ditto” to everything you wrote – Encouragement, fear, lonliness, wondering if you are writing for anyone besides the Lord and finding so many wonderful people with the same Crazy in Love with the Lord feelings
    I too have met so many wonderful blog sites – like yours – through other great blog sites
    Romans 1:12: That is, that you and I may be mutually encouraged by each others faith
    Prayers for your day

    Like

Leave a Reply

