GOD IS IN THE REASONS WHY

The last few years have been tough as my husband and
I live on only his retirement income.

Over the years, I have suffered from various injuries; and due to the nature of the injury, none of them have ever really been fixed or healed.

Because of this, the only work I have been able to do is a few hours a
week in our church office … typing, filing, preparing the Sunday worship
bulletin and the monthly newsletter.

As we struggled to make ends meet, our home began to fall apart; but there was no money to make the necessary repairs.

In the fall of 2008 we applied for a state grant but ran into one delay after another.  It wasn’t until the summer of 2010 that we finally reached the point where we could meet with contractors that were bidding on what needed to be done.   We
were surprised to find that only one contractor had bid on the work that needed
to be done on the house itself.

That first meeting with the contractor opened my eyes to my own failings as a Christian.  I looked at him, going by appearances, and wondered if I wanted him working on my house.

He had the appearance of a rock-and-roller: spiked, blonde hair, earrings, tattoos.  I thought to myself, “He looks like a ‘head-banger’ and I don’t think I want him working on my house.”

But even before that first meeting was over, I had changed my mind.  I don’t normally feel comfortable around new people, especially
men, but I discovered I was completely at ease with him.  He was easy to talk to, and we found ourselves joking around about the work that needed doing.

A couple weeks into the job, he overheard the Praise and Worship CD that I was listening to and admitted to us that he was a Christian.

We had quite a few discussions after that on our mutual faith, and those talks strengthened my faith tremendously.  He was
down-to-earth, easy-going, and talking to him was like talking to my brothers.

As we got to know him, I began to realize that God had worked it out so that he would be the one to get the job.  The more we talked, the
more certain I became that God was using this man to answer our prayers.

That got me to thinking about how things had worked out, with all the delays and problems that came up in the process of trying to get the work done.  It made me wonder what he had been doing during the time that we were fretting over the delays.

As we talked one day, and he was telling us about the past few years in his own life, he said
that he had not been associated with the organization that we got the grant
through until the spring of 2010, only a few months before he came to look the
job over.

That’s when it all fell into place for me.

While we had been fretting over our inability to get the necessary repairs done, God had been working in our circumstances and those of the contractor to bring him into our
lives.

Not only did God get us the necessary repairs at a reduced cost to us; He also brought to us a good friend that has been a great encouragement to us, and at the same time
taught me a good lesson about judging others.

“And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.”  Romans 8:28

© Drusilla Mott and https://drusillamott.wordpress.com, 2011

2 thoughts on “GOD IS IN THE REASONS WHY

Leave a Reply

