ANITA-MARIE

I remember when our granddaughter, Anita-Marie, was born in
February 1999.  I remember the first time I held her in my arms, when she was just a few months old.  For me, it was love at first sight.  I felt a bond that is indescribable.

When she was nearly a year old, she started making this face
that made my love for her bloom like a flower in the sun.  She would scrunch up her little face, wrinkling her nose, squinting her eyes, and pursing her mouth as if ready for a
kiss.

It soon became a game, started by this grandma.  I would look at her and start to make the face myself, and then watch for her to copy it.  When she did, we would giggle at such silliness.

She loved Pooh and Tigger, and being rocked in the rocking
chair while I read her a book.  She loved
our dog Kayla, and having chocolate milkshakes with Grandpa.

As she grew older, there was baseball and dance, and now she
takes karate lessons with her brother Michael.
She shares my love of scrapbooking and has cut her hair for “Locks of
Love’.  She attends her church youth group and has joined Civil Air Patrol.

We haven’t gotten to see her as much as I would have liked
because she lives in Rhode Island with her parents and brother; but she has
been in my prayers each and every day since she was born.

She has grown into a beautiful young lady, one that I am
very proud of.  And yesterday I received
the news that she had accepted Jesus as her Savior, the same day her mom,
Robin, was baptized.

Let me tell you, this grandma cried.  To have her make the decision to follow
Jesus, to become a child of God, is everything I wanted for her.

She can now count on Him to help her get through the rest of
her growing-up-years.  She will have Him
beside her every step of the way, loving her and strengthening her as she
follows His leading and His will for her life.

Anita-Marie, I love you so much; and I am so proud of
you.  My prayer for you is that you
continue to draw close to God.  To learn
to listen to His still small voice as you pray for guidance, and love Him with
all your heart, soul and mind.

© Drusilla Mott and https://drusillamott.wordpress.com, 2011

One thought on “ANITA-MARIE

  1. Pingback: Saturday Scrap – The Flat Traveler Book | Drusilla Mott

Leave a Reply

